Oktoberfest Beer Soap

il_570xN.667521215_oz0t

I learned early on that you have to plan ahead if you want to make a special or seasonal soap, to allow for it to fully cure before you want to use, sell or gift it. I am a huge fan of Oktoberfest and go to as many local beer festivals as I can, so at the end of summer I was already trying to decide which local beer I wanted to use to make my first beer soap for Oktoberfest. I’m fortunate to live in the pacific northwest, where we have dozens of local microbreweries I can easily bus or drive to within less than an hour drive from my house, and if I want to branch out and take a 3 hour trip to Portland I have dozens more to choose from!

My favorite beer of all time is Redhook ESB, a medium-bodied darkish beer made with roasted grains that has a smooth finish. It’s affordable, delicious, and goes with just about everything.

I read through several different beer recipes before I decided which one I wanted to try to mimic – I went with About.com’s candle and soap expert David Fisher’s recipe. For once, I had almost every oil the recipe called for, so this was a first for me! I didn’t have cocoa butter, but I have organic shea butter, so I just made a 1:1 swap for the butters. I ran the new recipe through a lye calculator and saw that making this change didn’t affect the liquid or lye amounts. I also omitted the essential oils and honey in his recipe, and of course had a different beer for my lye solution.

I’ve read a lot about how sugars can heat up your soap batter, so I thought I’d be safe mixing my oils and lye-beer solution at 100 degrees. Even at this low temperature, my mixture still heated up very quickly and started to set while I was still trying to blend it! I got it into the molds before it seized, but it was THICK. I didn’t insulate my molds, and still achieved a full gel.

This soap turned out so soft, I left it in the mold for 2 days before I unmolded it, and then I left it another full day before I sliced it. It was still very gummy when I sliced it, I had to rinse my cutter off every 2nd or 3rd bar to prevent sticky soap buildup from developing on the bars. Next time I make it, I’m going to stick my molds in the freezer for a few hours before I unmold them to ensure I have smooth, fingerprint-free sides, and I’m going to let it sit for at least 2 days before I slice it after that.

Despite my learning experiences, I still ended up with some great finished soap. It is smooth and hard after 4 weeks of curing, and it smells refreshing and beery! It makes big, soft bubbles and my skin is so smooth after I wash with it. I love this soap!

What are your favorite beers to use in your beer soap? Do you add additional fragrances, or let the smell of the beer shine through? Happy Oktoberfest!

Leave a Reply

